Diving Into the Danger Zone

Every time I set foot in my pantry, I’m afraid I’ll have to dive for cover. I leave the door open, and make sure someone knows to send in Search and Rescue if I don’t emerge within five minutes.

There is an avalanche waiting to happen on the fourth self!

There is an avalanche waiting to happen on the fourth self!

I walk past a shelf and potato chip bags plunge to floor. Cans are stacked haphazardly, titling like famed Italian monuments, and I am pretty sure somewhere way in the back is a can of beans from the last millennium.

Then there is the baking supply shelf…a mountain of sugar–granulated, powdered, synthetic….five types of flour, twelve bags of miscellaneous baking chips (several open and spilling chocolately nuggets on the floor), nuts–whole, chopped and “pieces” (just in case the chopped ones aren’t chopped enough?)…coconut (sweetened and unsweetened)…corn meal…shortening in tubs and sticks.

All of it stacked on top of one an other, threatening at any moment to tumble on an unsuspecting head…or foot…or paw.

This is a danger zone.  Hard hats required.

I can’t take it any more!

I must organize!

The Young One can easily reach her snacks now...without fear of imminent harm. Still need a basket for the MIL's candy bars though.

The Young One can easily reach her snacks now…without fear of imminent harm. Still need a basket for the MIL’s candy bars though.

A frantic trip to the craft store for a post-New Years basket sale, yielded a treasure trove of wicker that has helped transform my food closet into a mini-mercantile.

A few air-tight canisters and some truly inspiring chalkboard labels, and I can breathe a sigh of relief.

It is now a pantry again…or pretty close to it.

I still have a burning desire to acquire more baskets…and chalk…and cute little suctiony containers.

That's more like it! (Still need canisters for the rest of that flour.)

That’s more like it! (Still need canisters for the rest of that flour.)

I’m not completely comfortable with the state of my pantry, but I no longer feel the need to don a hard hat. I don’t fear for my life any more, and I don’t think I’ll be diving for the exit any time soon.

***This was a quick Five Minute Friday…before Friday is over. Today’s prompt is “Dive”.

5 thoughts on “Diving Into the Danger Zone

  1. I think it was on a New Year’s night that our family cleaned the pantry. We had a big family argument and things got resolved but we dove into anger, madness and chaos. Good for you for accomplishing this! I’m better at leaving the Hubs to do that job by himself!

    • My hubs knows not to get in my way when I’m in organization mode. Plus he loves to throw things away. (He’s learned to ask first though.). He actually gets excited when he sees me heading toward a closet or a drawer with a trash bag in tow!

Leave a Reply

