Social Butterfly

I signed up for Facebook a little grudgingly about five years ago when my boss asked me to give a presentation on marketing trends. “Sure,” I said, then went to Google in search of some cool graphics and quotes to steel insert with proper attribution into my flashy Powerpoint slides.

Article after article and site after site that returned for my query on “consumer marketing trends” was telling me that if I wasn’t participating in social media, I was was wrong. Well, at the time, I wasn’t being very social. I said hello to my co-workers and carried on intelligent conversations at cocktail parties, but I wasn’t being social…not the social–social media.

The first thing I learned in Presentation 101 was “know what you are talking about.” I knew I would never be able to give a proper presentation on marketing if I didn’t at least know what this new internet fad was all about. I made my first stop at Facebook, made a quick detour to gmail to sign up for a personal email account (no, I didn’t have one I used for non-spam email), and ended the evening at Twitter. I signed up for both, took a quick tour, called myself an expert and walked away.

I didn’t go back to Facebook until a few weeks later when I got my first friend request. Curious, I clicked the link in the email, and a whole new world opened at my finger tips. From this first friend, I found another, and then a cousin, a neighbor, the girl I shared a locker with in high school.

They wanted to see my family photographs, and I wanted to see theirs. They shared their likes with me, and I shared mine. They asked my advice, and I gave it freely.

One of the pictures, I found on Facebook the summer the Older One reported for basic training.

One of the pictures, I found on Facebook the summer the Older One reported for basic training.

I had FRIENDS, and soon I couldn’t go to bed without checking in and making sure they knew the amazing things that happened to me that day. When my son reported to West Point for basic training, Facebook was my lifeline. I scrolled through post after post hoping for a glimpse of my child who was so far away. And when tragedy struck the USMA Class of 2015 during that training, their mommas, this one included, turned to Facebook for news and comfort–forging true friendships in a world where a thumbnail image is sometimes the closest you can get to a hug.

I discovered my favorite brands were there too. Some gave me free stuff for liking their page and others posted cute cat pictures I readily shared on my timeline. I finally understood the trend I read about, and I was hooked.

Since then, I’ve become an internet marketer myself…starting brand pages, running contests, begging for and celebrating each hard-won LIKE. Until now, though, I haven’t taken the leap with my own brand…my Stiletto Momma brand.

Why? Afraid of failure probably. A Facebook page with one LIKE (my own) is a very lonely place.

The extra work it entails most likely scared me off too. As a marketer, I know that for a Facebook page to be successful it needs to be a place for conversations, not just a link to a post on my site. I’ll need to like other pages, share their content, comment on their posts, reply to their comments on mine. It’s a lot of work…but it could also be a lot of fun.

So, if you’ll have me in your news feed, like my Facebook and Twitter pages. I promise to give you valuable content, share my favorite viral videos and have an intelligent conversation with you over coffee…or wine if you prefer.

I believe in sharing the wealth too, so if you have a Facebook and/or Twitter page of your own for your blog or your business, leave a link to it in the comments, and I’ll like and follow you right back.

Leave a Reply

