Picture It Tuesday: Snow Days

When I lost my job last fall, countless people assured me everything happens for a reason. At the time, I thought they meant a better career opportunity was on the horizon or that the time off would help my body recover from two surgeries and a record-setting number of doctor’s visits.

However, in the wake of the eighth snow day of 2014, I’m pretty sure the reason I’ve been granted these stay-at-home days is so I can take this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to brush up on my snow shoveling technique. My resume now boasts of snow removal and a 100% salt-free ice elimination…

drivewayMaybe the producers of Survivor will soon be calling. This wintry mix has given me ample opportunity to improve upon my fire-making fundamentals. If I ever find myself in reality show peril, I am now confident in my ability to provide for my tribe…as long as I have a source of natural gas and a wall switch starter…

FireplaceOr perhaps, I’m meant to hone my problem solving skills with the knowledge I gained upon finding an ice-laden obstacle blocking my puppy walking path…

Icy treeMaybe I’m meant to become a world-renown fashion blogger, and my first post will be a glowing review of these snow boots, which I find keep my tootsies toasty in even the deepest of snow drifts…

snow bootsThen again, maybe the reason for my extra free-time is more abstract. Maybe, I’m meant to enjoy the wonder of Mother Nature…

Icesicles…and to marvel at the beauty in my surroundings…

shining iceOr maybe I’m just meant to be carefree and fun-loving. After all, it’s been years, maybe even decades, since I built a snow fort…

snow fort…slid down a snowy slope…

sled riding…and built a snowman tall enough and strong enough to lean on…

snowmanBut for all the times this winter I may have wished for a job other than snow engineer and ice chipper, yearned for a pair of warm, dry socks and envied the view from the inside…

puppy in the window…I wouldn’t trade these precious snow day smiles for anything…

sledding…and that right there, is the reason.

6 thoughts on “Picture It Tuesday: Snow Days

    • Thank you so much! Photography is fairly new to me. That’s one of the reasons I wanted to start this Picture It feature. I’m going tell the story with more pictures and fewer words–hopefully on a weekly basis.

  1. Just getting a few minutes to read some of your blogs. You are an AWESOME writer Kim!! Take advantage of this time you have been given and keep writing..

Leave a Reply

