Get Ready! Get Set! NaBloPoMo!

The Young One and I have been talking a lot about the power of positive thinking. When things get tough, she has a tendency to think herself not worthy of the task and pretty much talk herself into not succeeding.

I have a plan to address this that I’ll share in a later post, but first I have come to the conclusion that I need to listen to my own advice: positive words lead to positive actions.

NaBloPoMoToday marks the beginning of NaBloPoMo–National Blog Post Month–where thousands of bloggers commit to writing and publishing a blog post every day for the entire month of November.  I’ve thought about joining this celebration of the blogosphere for a few years now, but that “commit to writing” a post a day part always get in the way.

EVERY DAY for 30 days! Can I really do that?

If I follow my own advice to my daughter, I have to believe I really can. Over and over again I tell her:

  • Believe in yourself, and you can do anything.
  • Try hard, and you can succeed.
  • If you tell yourself you can do it, you will.
  • Nothing of value ever comes easy.
  • You have the power to achieve whatever it is you want.
  • If you don’t at least try, you’ll won’t know if can.

What kind of a role model am I if I don’t set this example for her?

So, here I am at the starting line of the longest blogging marathon I’ve ever entered.  The end of it may be just a tiny spot in the distance, but I can do this. I can write and publish one post every day for the next 30 days. I can find a few minutes in every day in which to string a few sentences together and move just a little bit closer to the finish line.

I can do this because I know at the end of the race is a little girl who needs to see me have a victory dance. She needs to hear me say, “I can”, and then watch me as I do.

I need to hear me say, “I can.” I need to watch me do.

Today, I am joining NaBloPoMo, and I am going to cross the finish line. Just watch me!

5 thoughts on “Get Ready! Get Set! NaBloPoMo!

  1. You definitely can!!!!! For the past three plus years, I have written daily on my wall…specifically for the West Point Moms. Some say they look forward to reading these “messages”….especially the Grad Moms. Some have said it gets them through their lives. For 30 days, you can give a positive message. You have a lot to be thankful for…..more than some… less than others. Being positive, when one makes that decision…is something which then becomes a good habit. It also gets you through life at a much easier and joyful level. signed…60 something and still on top of the world.

  2. Totally willing you on…..(I’m doing NaNoWriMo so can relate…..)…..will be back to your blog each day to see what you’re writing…..[can’t see how to follow you by email?]

    • Thanks for all your wonderful comments! I do have a subscribe via email link on the home page. If you’re on a mobile device, you may have to scroll to the very bottom of the page. On a desktop, it’s on the right. Glad to have you following.

      • My pleasure (always feel like a bit of a stalker when I post multiple comments – glad you weren’t freaked out!)….have your blog open in its own shiny new tab labelled (in my mind), “read with big mug of hot chocolate on Sunday”….

Leave a Reply

