A To Do List Rant

Dear To Do List,

I’d like you to know you’re driving me crazy, and I’ve had enough.

You just keep growing and growing, but you never seem to have enough room for the things I actually want to do. You are definitely more biased to the have-to’s these days. No matter how many of those I mark off, you can never seem to be able work in a few of the want-to’s.

For example, today I wanted to go to the gym, but the three urgent have-to’s that came out of that 10:00 meeting, pushed another want-to right onto the “Maybe Someday I’ll Find the Time To Do” List.

I also believe you are conspiring with Email again, aren’t you. No sooner did I put “Go get a decent lunch” on your list, than I saw another urgent email from the boss pop up on the screen. Really? Do you know what it’s like to eat peanut butter and crackers at your desk every day? You need to let me have a grown-up meal once in a while if you expect us to continue to work together.

Can’t we come to some kind of a compromise?

Magazine

Ina and the gang at Food Network Magazine miss me!

How about this: Tonight, you let me read that food magazine that’s been begging for my attention for the past two weeks, and on Saturday, I will go grocery shopping without complaint. That sounds fair to me. What do you say?

What!!?? What do you mean I have to pack the Young One’s lunch and walk the dogs first? I suppose next you’ll tell me I have to wash the dishes and put away the laundry!

Oh yeah? Well, here’s a To Do for you…”Throw away the To Do List!”

I want to crumple you into a tiny ball and through you in the trash can. That’s right! I said “trash can”, not “recycling bin”. I don’t want to open up the chance for you to come back and haunt me one day.

Oh, but wait…. That’s another want-to, so I guess we won’t be doing that any time soon.

I’m too angry at you to have this conversation, right now, and apparently, I have more important things to do!

But before I go, I would like point out one little detail you may have overlooked. While we have been having this argument over want-to’s and have-to’s, I have managed to sneak in a blog post, and I’m checking a well-earned want-to off your list!

It’s a small victory, but I’ll take it!

***For today’s post, I drew inspiration from the Daily Post’s daily prompt which declared that someone or something you can’t communicate with through writing can understand every single word you write today.

One thought on “A To Do List Rant

Leave a Reply

