C-O-L-D Spells Brrrrr

It’s cold.

There…I typed it.  I don’t want to believe it, but I see it up there in all it’s pixelated glory. C-O-L-D…otherwise known as BRRRRR.

Cold

This is not the face of someone excited to be wearing a winter coat in November!

I take back every negative thing I said about the oppressive heat and humidity that plagued our summer vacation at Disney World. What I wouldn’t give to feel an unwanted trickle of sweat run down my back right now.

I would much rather have gone shopping over the weekend for shorts and sandals instead of the parka and boots I purchased for the Young One. Given the early start to the frigid temperatures we’re seeing this fall, she’ll be bundled up in fleece and faux fur for at least five months.

The pups have each claimed a fireplace already. They both started looking longingly at the dark, cold cavities three weeks ago, wondering where the warm went. Tails, both furry and fluffy, started wagging with gratitude last weekend when we set the fake logs blazing at long last.

Fluffy’s winter coat has come out of the closet again, as have quilts, comforters, hats and gloves I haven’t seen since March. I gave in and put away the pool bag last week to make room for a pile of ear muffs and scarves. My heart broke a little. 💔

And then this morning, my worst fear was realized. As I sat shivering by the window, wistfully remembering the green leaves that mere weeks ago had covered the now barren trees, something floated across my field of vision.

It was small, just a speck against the gray sky, and as it drifted past, I watched another one follow…then another…and another.

SNOW!

Fluffy jumped onto my lap and looked quizzically from the window to me and back again.

“Yes,” I whispered into her ear with a sigh. “Winter is coming.” ❄️❄️❄️❄️❄️❄️❄️❄️❄️

 

Leave a Reply

