Thanksgiving S.O.S.

I think I have amnesia.

The last thing I clearly remember is congratulating the Hubs on successfully passing out all of our Halloween candy. We had finally managed the ever-elusive tricker-treater to candy bar ratio, and I was pleased to not feel obligated to consume the left-over peanut butter cups again this year.

I know I climbed into bed that night feeling happy, but then…the rest is a blank.

I must have fallen out of bed and whacked my head on the nightstand because I seem to have lost about 26 days.

The first thing I noticed was that my watch was wrong. It was an hour faster than the time on my phone.

“Okay,” I said to myself as I took a deep breath. “I just missed the end of Daylight Savings Time. That happens to people all the time. No big deal.”

Big Book

“I want this. I want that. I want one of everything!”

But then I noticed the Young One reading the Sunday paper…no, wait a minute…not the newspaper…a store insert…but not just any insert.  The Toys R Us Big Book—aka the All-I-Want-For-Christmas-Is-Inside-This-Book book!

She should be getting sick on Kit Kats and Three Musketeers today, not writing her letter to Santa Claus!

Then through the radio speakers I heard a sound that forced a gasp from my lips… “Dashing through the snow in a one-horse open sleigh…”  Jingle Bells? Wasn’t Monster Mash on that same station last night?

I raced to the TV, knowing CNN would give me the latest on some type of new-age terror attack that must have wiped my memory. But instead of Wolf Blitzer, I found myself staring at a jolly fat man in a red suit marketing the creamy goodness of Ready Wip in his hot cocoa!

What happened to the pies and the turkey?

The Older One was planning on coming home for Thanksgiving.  Did I miss it? Who cooked for him? Who did his laundry? Who hugged him good-bye before he set out on his own into this crazy mixed up world?

I’ve gone from Halloween to Christmas with no cranberry sauce in between!

Somebody please bring back Thanksgiving!

Somebody!

Anybody!

HELP!

One thought on “Thanksgiving S.O.S.

Leave a Reply

