#WeekendCoffeeShare – 4/9/16

Coffee ShareIf we were having coffee, I’d tell you how my jaw hit the floor when I looked out the window this morning and saw snow on the ground. Then I’d ask you to check your calendar and verify I was on the correct month.

“Yep,” you’d say, “It’s April.”

“Great,” I’d grumble and walk to the fireplace to flip the switch and take the chill from the room. “I hope all those people who complained about 70 degree temperatures in December are happy.”

I’d head to the Keurig to brew you that strong dark roast stuff you like. I’d make a cup of Butter Toffee with Italian Sweet Cream creamer for me, and listen to you wonder how I can drink my coffee with all that stuff in it. Then I’d remind you that I didn’t realize the new-model Keurigs don’t make the coffee as hot as the older ones until you said something about it on your last trip home. Now I can’t drink a cup of it without nuking it in the microwave for 15 seconds first.

CoffeeIf we were having coffee, I’d tell you that as soon as you left for Germany Tuesday night, I thought of all the things I wish I’d done for you before you left. Everyone I know would have branded me a helicopter mom, but I wish I’d driven through five states to keep your car in my driveway during your deployment. I don’t have enough vacation time built up, and I’m not comfortable driving that far by myself, but I wish I’d done it.

Oh, and I also should have remembered to tell you to get an electrical converter.  You can’t just plug your gadgets in over there. The plug won’t fit. Too late now. Sorry ’bout that.

But you’ll be happy to know I baked your favorite cookies last night–chocolate peanut butter chip. I’ve also ordered packing material from the postal service and stopped by the grocery store to stock up on care package goodies. I got the PB&J supplies you asked for, plus quite a few things you didn’t ask for. I’m your momma, so I know what you like.

The A to Z Challenge is going good too.  Have you read A through H? My favorite was “E”. The most commented on was “B”, and the most read was “D”. (Probably because D was for “Deployment”, and I shared it with a bunch of Army moms.) “H” was freaking hard though! I wracked my brain for half the day trying to come up with a good “H” post, and then copped out with a video share. It was a heroically happy video, but it was horribly hard to find. (See what I did there?)

“I” is going to be challenging too. Got any good “I” ideas? Oops, I did it again. What can I say, you inspire me.

If we were having coffee, we would be at the end of our cups by now. You’d push your cup to the middle of the kitchen island where I’ll find it a few hours later and smile. I’d walk you to the door and remind you to “let me know if you need anything.”

Keeping with the ritual, you’d answer, “I will.”

Then you’d lean down, so I won’t have to reach so far. I’d wrap my arms around your broad shoulders and give a squeeze and a few pats.

With one last squeeze, I’d whisper, “I love you, my sweet boy. Stay safe, and hurry home.”

**This post is inspired by #WeekendCoffeeShare hosted by Part-Time Monster .

3 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare – 4/9/16

  1. Care packages will be appreciated I am sure. The weather is hot for this time of the year causing a fast snow melt and the rivers high even with 3 dams to control the waters.

Leave a Reply

