Weekend Coffee Share – 4/16/16

Coffee ShareIf we were having coffee, I’d tell you to keep your jacket on. It’s a beautiful spring morning, and I want to have coffee on the patio. The sun is shining today since the the clouds have finally decided to spend their time elsewhere. The trees are full of birds, and their trilling song is what pulled me out of bed before everyone else this morning.

This is my favorite time of the day–that hour before the rest of the house is awake. I can read in peace. I can write in peace. I can sip my coffee leisurely rather than setting the cup down every 10 minutes to make someone’s breakfast, find someone’s socks or have a conversation about the conversation we had last night.

Why is it that the rest of the family interprets the sight of me with a book and a cup of coffee as an invitation to ask me to do something? They’re jealous, aren’t they, or maybe they are threatened by my Kindle. I can’t blame them–that six inch anti-glare screen has a tendency to pull me in and not let me go for hours on the weekend. But really…they can have my undivided attention every waking hour of any other day. Just give this one hour of peace and quiet on the patio this morning.

img_0226Anyway, even though the sun is shining, it’s still a little chilly, and Fluffy and Furry have already claimed the sunny spots on the love seat. You probably want to keep your jacket on unless, of course, you want to fight the pups for the sun. I warn you though, Fluffy is a diva this early in the morning, and she won’t be happy if you displace her.

You could try for Furry’s spot as well, but he’s old and frail and probably doesn’t have too many more sunny mornings on the patio in his future. Why would you take that away from him? Why?

Just leave your jacket on and sit in the that shady spot over there. It’s still a nice place to sit on an early spring morning.

I hope you brought a book to read.  We won’t be having much of a conversation this morning.  I just started the Outlander series, and I’d like to spend an hour or so in Scotland before I have to help the Young One get ready for her soccer game.

If we were having coffee, we’d silently sit on the chilly patio with the dogs sunning themselves and the birds singing high above us. We’d have a steaming cup of coffee in one hand, a book in the other, and we’d enjoy the quiet before a busy day.

**Today’s post was inspired by Part Time Monster and the Weekend Coffee Share.

8 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share – 4/16/16

  1. Lovely vision. Patio, early morning, furry pals nearby, and of course, the best: books and Coffee! I hear your words and how true they ring. I had five kids, and finding any time at all, seemed impossible for years. I hid in bathroom. So I shall join you, and if okay, bring my little sweet (lazy lazy) shar-pei and my book too?….sounds perfect!

  2. Love the view from here; however, being cold-natured as I am, I might share the sunny spot with either of those two, just not displace them, let them sit in my lap while I pet them. 😉 … Oh, and I love the “have a conversation about the conversation we had last night.” If I was paid for every one of those with my two, I might very well be a rich lady! lol 😀

  3. Sounds like a beautiful way to start the day, and I felt as if you were writing words that echo my thoughts. Haha. I am re-reading the Outlander Series myself, with a coffee in the early morning before the house stirs and needs my helping hand.

  4. 🙂 I’d likely insist on the sun, but the pups are welcome to use my lap so we can all sit in the sun!

    It seems like a book or tablet is somehow an indication that a person is in the middle of “free time” rather than occupied…But dammit, my books are an occupation! lol

Leave a Reply

